34th Annual New Brunswick Mathematics Competition Grades 7 – 9

Report, May 26, 2016

The Competition was held on Friday, May 13, 2016, simultaneously on the campuses of the University of New Brunswick at Fredericton and Saint John, and at l'Université de Moncton at their Moncton, Edmundston and Shippagan campuses.

The competition paper was available in both English and French at all locations.

A total of 1155 students participated: 349 in Fredericton, 281 in Saint John, 294 in Moncton, 117 in Edmundston and 114 in Shippagan. The students represented 159 schools from all 7 school districts.

Sponsors include the NB Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Morneau Shepell - Fredericton, as well as the two host universities.

The awards ceremony at UNB-Fredericton was hosted by Dr. Eddy Campbell, President of UNB. Prizes were presented to students by Elise Bohnsack, Pension Analyst at Morneau Shepell; Cathy Martin, Learning Specialist for grades K-8 Math and Science from the Department of Education; Dr. Andreas Decken, Assistant Dean from the Faculty of Science; and Dr. Vladimir Tasic, Chair of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

All winners, including those finishing first in each of the numerous sub districts, received a mathematically themed T-shirt. This year's T-shirt featured different diagrams representing proofs of the Pythagorean Theorem.

District winners for each grade received as well diplomas and either a book (English districts) or a magazine subscription (French districts). Pewter medals were awarded to the top three students in the province for each grade. The top three students in each grade, at each campus, will receive cheques. We thank our many sponsors for underwriting these and all other prizes.

I am pleased to acknowledge the contribution of many of my colleagues in the Department of Mathematics & Statistics (Fredericton), and especially help from the administrative staff, Cindy Thomas, Jennifer Meade and Marilyn Hetherington. They really do a huge portion of this important effort. Special thanks go to John Grant McLaughlin who created the contest papers and Guohua Yan, computed scores here at UNBF; and to Jeff Picka for taking photographs and assisting at the awards ceremony. Thank you also to Mahin Salmani, Sanjeev Seahra, John Ziprick, Nathan Grieve, Lin Wang and all the graduate students, undergraduate students, and summer students who helped to make the day run smoothly.

Additional thanks go to those from other departments at UNBF who provided a great variety of stimulating activities for competitors and teachers during the afternoon. As usual, the response to these activities, and indeed to the entire program, has been most favourable.

Many other faculty, staff and students at all five campuses helped out on the day of the competition.

Particular thanks go to Samuel Gaudet, Ahcène Brahmi, Jacques Allard, Cynthia Kenny and Paul Deguire in Moncton; Amel Kaoche and Eric Pelletier in Edmundston; Rina Robichaud, Maryse Haché and Yvette Duguay in Shippagan; and Rebecca McKay in Saint John.

More information is available at http://www.math.unb.ca/mathcomp/.

Caroline Purdy

Coordinator NB Math Competition Department of Mathematics and Statistics, UNB- Fredericton.